MUSC Foundation Board Names New Members, Officers

Contact: Debbie Byrd

Oct. 6, 2017

CHARLESTON, SC – The Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) Foundation Board announced its recently elected officers. 

John W. Barter, retired executive vice president of Allied Signal, Inc., was elected chairman. Daniel J. Sullivan of Kiawah Island was elected vice chairman. Robyn M. Frampton, chief operating officer/chief financial officer for the foundation, will serve as treasurer. Thomas P. Anderson, the foundation’s chief executive officer, will serve as secretary. 

Newly elected to the board for three-year terms are: Richard Almeida, former chairman and CEO of Heller Financial, Inc., Charleston; Dr. Deborah Jones Davis, who specializes in obstetrics and gynecology, Columbia; Michael Joukowsky, CEO of a private investment firm, Charleston; and James S. MacLeod, chairman of the board for Sykes Enterprises, Hilton Head Island. Also, elected as MUSC Board of Trustee representatives were Dr. James Lemon, who specializes in oral and maxillofacial surgery, Columbia; and Charles W. Schulze, retired shareholder of Elliott Davis Decosimo, Greenwood. Elected as trustees emeriti were Carlos E. Evans, former foundation board chairman and retired executive vice president with Wells Fargo, Charlotte; Elizabeth H. McCullough, attorney, Charleston; and William H. Bingham, Sr. of West Columbia.

About the MUSC Foundation

The MUSC Foundation is a $577 million asset-based 501(c)3 incorporated in 1966 for the sole purpose of stimulating significant private gift support for the educational, research and clinical programs, special needs and other advancement of the Medical University of South Carolina and the Medical University Hospital Authority. It is governed and advised by a 31-member board of directors