Our Mission

The Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) is South Carolina’s only comprehensive academic health science center. Our purpose is to preserve and optimize human life in South Carolina and beyond. MUSC provides an interprofessional environment for learning, discovery, and healing through (1) education of health care professionals and biomedical scientists, (2) research in the health sciences, and (3) provision of comprehensive health care.

As a public institution of higher learning, MUSC provides a full range of educational programs in the biomedical sciences and actively engages in community service and outreach. The campus is located on more than 50 acres in the city of Charleston. A diverse student population of more than 2,750 students in six colleges (Dental Medicine, Graduate Studies, Health Professions, Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy) study for degrees at the baccalaureate, masters, doctoral, and other professional levels. MUSC has academic programs that employ traditional and distance education methods. The University also provides residency training for over 750 graduate health professionals and is comprised of approximately 1,425 full-time and 300 part-time faculty.

Approved by Deans Council: June 17, 2013
Approved by President’s Council: June 26, 2013
Approved by MUSC Board of Trustees: August 9, 2013