access intranet after hours circle-arrow apply blog caret circle arrow close closer look community outreach community outreach contact contact us down arrow facebook lock solid find a provider find a clinical trial find a provider find a researcher find faculty find-a-service how to apply join leadership left arrow locations logo make a gift map location maximize minimize my chart my chart notification hp notification lp next chevron right nxt prev pay your bill play previous quality and safety refer a patient request a speaker request appointment request an appointment residents corner rss search search jobs Asset 65 submit a story idea symptom checker Arrow Circle Up twitter youtube Dino Logo External Link University Logo Color University Logo Solid Health Logo Solid Arrow Right Circle Book Calendar Date Calendar Search Date Diploma Certificate Dollar Circle Donate Envelope Graduation Cap Map Pin Map Search Phone Pills Podcast

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the final authority and the governing body of The Medical University of South Carolina, its colleges, outreach programs, and ancillary functions. The Board establishes the general policies of the University, defines educational programs and approves annual budgets. The Board names the principal officers of the University, including the President and Vice Presidents. Meeting six (6) times a year, the comprised group includes physicians, dentists, an engineer, a former congressman, business executives, a CPA, and an attorney.

MUSC Board Member Biographies


Service Began

Expiration of Terms

Members Representing    
Dr. Donald R. Johnson II 
(First District) Charleston
1994 2022
Dr. James Lemon, Vice Chairman
(Second District) Columbia
2014 2022
Dr. Richard M. Christian, Jr.
(Third District) Greenwood
2017 2022
Dr. Henry Frederick Butehorn III
(Fourth District)
             2019 2020
Dr. G. Murrell Smith, Sr.
(Fifth District) Sumter
 2013 2020
Dr. W. Melvin Brown III
(Sixth District) Charleston 
 2018 2022
Dr. Paul T. Davis
(Seventh District) Darlington
 2018 2020
 Lay Members    
Mr. Michael E. Stavrinakis
(First District) Charleston 
 2013 2020
Mr. William H. Bingham, Sr.             
(Second District) Columbia 
 2002 2020
Mr. Charles W. Schulze, Chairman
(Third District) Greenwood 
 2002 2020
Thomas L. Stephenson, Esq.
(Fourth District) Greenville 
1998 2022
Ms. Terri R. Barnes
(Fifth District) Rock Hill 
 2014 2022
Ms. Barbara Johnson-Williams
(Sixth District) Orangeburg 
 2013 2020
The Honorable James A. Battle
(Seventh District) Nichols 
 2013 2022
Dr. Bartlett J. "Bart" Witherspoon*
Dr. C. Guy Castles III**
*At-Large Member
**Governor's Designee
***Serves at the pleasure of the Governor